Congrats sent to Granada!

Congratulations to Maureen St. Clair, who is part of my Artist Circle doing Julia Cameron’s book “Finding Water” by e-mail this winter. She won a copy of ROADS UNRAVELLING in my Spring newsletter draw.  Maureen is a writer, painter and activist. The picture featured here is one of her prints. I asked her to send a few word along about her work. She writes:

“Recently a friend of mine described my Art Work as Heart Work and it made me think more seriously of why I do what I do: paint people celebrating their lives, their selves. My Grenada family, friends, and community are the foundation of my Heart work. They have taught me hope, strength, resilience, courage and resourcefulness in the face of life’s difficult moments. I have learned and continue to learn the fine balance between hope and despair and the power of music, dance, storytelling, poetry, and laughter in healing, transforming and revolutionizing.

I left Canada in 1993 and since then have made Grenada my home. I met my life partner Theo soon after arriving in Grenada and in 2001 we planted our own roots with the birth of our daughter Maya.

I freelance part time as a community facilitator and work full time as an artist and peace educator. I am also passionate about writing and would like to use this passion to further my work as a peace activist.  You can experience my work as writer, artist and community peace worker at http://maureenstclair.blogspot.com/.”

Congrats Maureen. Hope you enjoy the copy of “Roads Unravelling” and it inspires you to finish your short story collection.

“Dive into these stories, let their current take you. New Brunswick’s Kennebecasis is to Kathy-Diane Leveille what the Miramichi is to David Adams Richards—a harsh and lovely riverscape of the soul. Leveille’s writing sings of heartbreak and redemption, and the wicked dancing moments in-between.  A wise and stirring debut.”  Carol Bruneau author of Purple for Sky

Leave a Reply

