True E-Book Confessions

Let the Shadows Fall Behind You and Roads Unravelling are now available on Kobo and Kindle. Very exciting! And yet….

I must confess I still don’t have an E-reader.  It’s true. I remain enthralled with the feel of the printed book in my hand: the unique smell, the shifting weight, the color.  It’s as if my imagination can only truly expand unfettered when my nose is buried between a book cover.  I feel as if I’d be disloyal leaving my paper books behind somehow; closing the door on one of my deepest friendships. My oldest son showed me an e-book he was reading on his i-Phone.  I was impressed and fascinated by how easy and convenient it was to browse.  He lives in a big city, so it makes sense that it would be ideal to have that at his fingertips on a morning commute or lunch break.   

I live in a rural area on the east coast. The pace of living is hectic for the average snail.   For some reason in my mind, it’s an atmosphere that goes hand in glove with the delicious anticipation of holding a traditional book….as if all the writer’s hopes for the narrative, the words put to page, the promise and fullfillment, have come full circle to be unleashed in these quiet surroundings.

Since something inside me would shrivel and die if I couldn’t read, I know it’s inevitable that I’ll eventually buy an e-reader in some form or another.  I’m already intrigued by the potential to read a few pages anywhere, anytime in places where a traditional book just wouldn’t be practical. Take travelling for instance.  It would be wonderful not to have my suitcase bursting at the seams with so many books. I’m always afraid the one I absolutely need will be forgotten at home. 

There’s a place for both types of books, I think.  I’m comforted knowing that, despite the package a book comes in, the imagination is still all that matters. It ignites from the words, however they arrive, in the same way it always has… and the worlds it creates in each reader can never be manufactured or replicated or downloaded at the click of a button.  Happy reading!

    

“Picturing ordinary people in extraordinary situations, and recording their impressions with an intense clarity we associate more with black and white photos, Leveille is blessed with a flash of insight that lets the readers see far beyond the surface.” – The Chronicle Journal

Leave a Reply

